Skip to main contentCarbon Design System


Carbon is not just one team. To sustain productive contribution and maintain a clear direction for Carbon as a whole, various groups work together to provide direction, governance, and support.

Steering committee

The Carbon Design System steering committee provides oversight and direction for Carbon and its design and development community. It is made up of Carbon practitioners to ensure Carbon stays true to the community we’re serving.


  • Improve design strategy, quality, and consistency within the design system and our guidance to ensure excellence.
  • Promote and support usage of, and contribution to, the Carbon Design System within their organizations.
  • Assist with the alignment and standardization of components, patterns, content, and tooling to ensure consistency of design standards and resources across teams and business units.
  • Highlight projects of high potential business value, and assist with finding collaborators and resources.
  • Provide a quarterly update to the advisory board.

The people

Sophia Levens
Executive Director of Design, IBM Sterling; Chair, Steering committee
Sophia Levens headshot
Robin Cannon
Program Director, Carbon; Co-chair, Steering committee
Robin Cannon headshot
Mike Abbink
IBM Distinguished Designer, Carbon
Mike Abbink headshot
Dawn Ahukanna
Design Principal and Front-end Architect, Watson IoT
Dawn Ahukanna headshot
Cameron Calder
IBM Design Principal, IBM Cloud and Cognitive Software
Cameron Calder headshot
Tricia Garrett
Design Principal, Master Inventor, Watson Health
Tricia Garrett headshot
David Levinson
IBM Design Principal, IBM Cloud and Cognitive Software
David Levinson headshot
Alison Joseph
Development Manager, Carbon
Alison Joseph headshot
Tessa Rodes
Senior Design Manager, IBM Cloud
Tessa Rodes headshot
Jeannie Servaas
IBM Design Principal, Carbon
Jeannie Servaas headshot
JD Speer
Design Lead, IBM Storage
JD Speer headshot
Wonil Suh
IBM Design Principal, Digital Growth and Commerce
Wonil Suh headshot
Marko Thorhauer
Executive Creative Director, IBM Design Principal, IBM iX
Marko Thorhauer headshot
Diana Tran
Visual Design Practice Lead, IBM Sterling
Diana Tran headshot

Advisory board

The Carbon advisory board is comprised of executives across the company who advise on the direction of Carbon and ensure top level buy-in and resource allocation to support Carbon’s work.


  • Champion Carbon adoption and Carbon standards within their organization.
  • Where possible, commit to engaging design or development resources from within their organization to help accomplish the Carbon roadmap.
  • Hold the steering committee, and Carbon as a whole, accountable for delivery of design standards, guidance, and excellence with business impact.
  • Provide the steering committee with feedback on business needs, to facilitate a Carbon roadmap that meets those needs.

The people

Mike Abbink
IBM Distinguished Designer, Carbon
Mike Abbink headshot
Arin Bhowmick
Vice President and Chief Design Officer, IBM Cloud and Cognitive Software
Arin Bhowmick headshot
Sarah Brooks
IBM Distinguished Designer, Design Program Office
Sarah Brooks headshot
Haidy Francis
Design Executive, IBM Security
Haidy Francis headshot
Phil Gilbert
General Manager, Design Program Office
Phil Gilbert headshot
Craig Moser
Vice President of Design and Usability, AI Applications
Craig Moser headshot
Doug Powell
Vice President, Designer Practices & Community, IBM Distinguished Designer
Doug Powell headshot
Nigel Prentice
Design Director, Digital Growth and Commerce
Nigel Prentice headshot
Shani Sandy
Executive Design Practice Leader, Director IBM Z
Shani Sandy headshot
Billy Seabrook
Global Chief Creative Officer, IBM iX
Billy Seabrook headshot