Removal is a non-destructive action. A user can remove an asset from a list or item without destroying it.
User confirmation is not required for low-impact removals because the asset is not destroyed.
Require user confirmation for high impact removals. Communicate the consequences of the removal, and let the user know if the removal is permanent.
Optionally, when the remove button is selected, change it to ‘Removing…’.